A nose by any other name…

Standard

It’s been one of those days. My Cockatiel, Bird, who has never learned one word in 12 years, has finally managed to mimic the sound of something; the dog’s rubber squeaky toys. Oh joy! Not a morning person, really, really not a morning person, being woken up early by Bird performing her new found talent did not start my day on the best of footings. Four more hours of this very loud, unrelenting squeaky toy racket did nothing to improve my mood. I decided to carry her cage, tall and cylindrical, up to the studio to let her fly about for the rest of the day. Somehow, probably because I couldn’t think straight from the nerve shredding noise, I misjudged the ceiling height by the staircase, knocked the top of the cage on it, which then sprang back in my face and broke my nose. I swear I saw her smirk.

At least I got a painting finished.

“Stonebridge Street” featuring “Doodle”. By Claire Shotter. For sale @  http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180861663012

4 responses »

  1. You seriously broke your nose??! My dog head butted me in the nose today – no break but hell it hurt and I have a very slight black eye!

    • Yep, I broke it. Wish I could say it’s the first time but, it’s actually the third. That’s the problem with having a big nose; if something is going to hit me, my nose is the first thing it comes to.

Leave a Reply

