….and other loves

Standard

It’s common knowledge that I hate phones. Ours is referred to as “that bloody phone” most times when it rings. Six months ago my husband beat his chest and told me that, if I was going to be buying a dog and walking it, I had to have a mobile phone because if I fell down and hurt myself or came across someone a bit suspect while off the beaten track, I’d have no way to call for help.

Yes Dear.

He told me that he was going to buy me the new iphone.

Yes Dear.

Well, I got the dog and went for walks and, for the past six months, have managed to put him off buying me a phone by claiming things like: “I won’t be able to read the screen without my glasses” and “They’re too complicated for me to work out how to use one” and “I’ll never remember to take it with me” and, my favourite, “It’s too much money to spend on something I’ll probably never use”.

Then, one day, I found myself walking the dog off the beaten track and I thought: “Hmmm…..If I fall down and hurt myself or come across someone a bit suspect, I’ll have no way to call for help.”

The next morning I bought myself a mobile phone. (Clairey, Clairey, quite contrary). It cost me £16.49 from Argos. How cool is that. For under £20.00 I can buy something that allows me to ring people while I’m walking the dog and invite them to meet me in town for coffee. Okay, that’s not really what it was meant for but, so far, that’s the only use I’ve found for it. It’s purple (because my daughter helped choose it) and it doesn’t need a case because it’s a flip phone and it has buttons, good old fashioned buttons. Yes, it’s a bit plastic and looks as if it came out of a Christmas cracker but I love my little purple phone.

Today’s painting:

“Cycling Down Allen Street” By Claire Shotter. For sale @ http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/180871646808?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649

 

 

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

