Poppies Cafe Tea Rooms

Standard

I’ve worked so hard all through June, completing 24 paintings, that I’ve decided to treat myself to a day off tomorrow and take my book out to lunch at Poppies Cafe, http://www.ripon.co.uk/poppies/ , where I’m known as “Coleslaw Lady”. I love going to Poppies. They have table service. Everyone deserves to be waited on right? Their staff are friendly and welcoming and make my sandwiches to my own specifications. All sandwich connoisseurs will understand why this is important. I myself like prawn mayonnaise on brown bread with no butter. I hate butter. Their coffee, which I like black and bitter, is strong enough to kick my weary backside into gear for the long walk home and their coleslaw, well, it’s just simply the best in Ripon. Sometimes I order three portions of it. Hence the nickname. Contrary to what my husband and kids think, coleslaw is a big deal. It has to be freshly made. None of that tub rubbish that has a weird texture and a frighteningly long shelf life. It shouldn’t have mustard seeds in. Mustard seeds are pants. It should be mixed with plenty of mayonnaise but not be swimming in it. It should be tangy but not screw-your-face-up tangy. Coleslaw is a big deal.

On to the fruits of my labour. I can’t put photos of all the paintings on tonight as there have been so many since my last blog that I’d still be at the computer when the sun came up.

Here we go:

By Claire Shotter

SOLD
By Claire Shotter

SOLD

 

By Claire ShotterBy Claire Shotter

SOLD

By Claire ShotterBy Claire ShotterBy Claire Shotter

SOLDBy Claire ShotterBy Claire Shotter

SOLDBy Claire ShotterBy Claire Shotter

SOLDBy Claire ShotterBy Claire Shotter

SOLD

3 responses »

  1. Congratulations, Claire!! Wonderful. All of them. And while I’m not a fan of coleslaw, I can understand how it’s a big deal to you. Here’s to another day off!!

Leave a Reply

